An Emergency Case of Catch-Up

With high quality support, students who are deaf can learn to use spoken language to communicate with anyone they choose.

That is the basis of this blog.

I think now I should be more specific and add: even with later-than ideal intervention.

For many reasons, some children who are deaf don’t come to receive support in learning spoken language until they are school-aged. These children are suffering from an emergency case of catch-up. So much language and vocabulary to learn and so many years lost.

1-case-of-catch-up

 


Meh. Forgive the bad visual pun.
I didn’t want to say ‘game’ of catch-up. It’s much too serious a topic for the flippant use of that term.

 

 

In my experience, children who begin a quality spoken language program at 11 years old can acquire language and speech that allows them to be successful communicators.

I believe this with all my heart –because I have seen it. And many others have witnessed these victories.

Yes, it’s true that not all children can make that achievement with a late start. But many can. And doesn’t that child – and that family –  in front of you deserve the chance to thrive?

There are so many topics on my “To Write” list. But this one is crying out to be aired. I am working on a series I’m calling Belated Intervention to discuss how these children can be supported and perhaps to highlight those who have succeeded.

Leave a comment