Why You Should Consider “I Don’t Know” as a Helpful Answer

I recently rewatched Rick Lavoie’s F.A.T. City video. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend you watch it — on a regular basis.

Among numerous bits of teaching wisdom he imparts, Lavoie advises teachers not to accept “I don’t know” as an answer because it gives students permission not to answer.

With respect to Mr. Lavoie, I haven’t noticed that effect in my classes over the years. At some point, I learned that “I don’t know” can be helpful to the teacher.

daffy-shrug

Teacher Challenge: Processing Time

One of the challenges of students who are deaf, using spoken language, is the need for more time to process language, including a teacher’s questions. Here’s a common exchange between teacher and student.

  1. Teacher asks a question.
  2. Teacher waits for student to respond.
  3. Teacher continues to wait, allowing extra time for student to process the question.
  4. Ultra-patient teacher restates the question and waits again.

This interaction can feel a lot like a game of chicken: each person waiting for the other to end the suspense.  It often ends with the student giving an incorrect answer and feeling defeated.

 

idkIf, after truly ‘looking for’ an answer,  students are allowed to respond with “I don’t know,” then the teacher can choose how to proceed with less and frustration and less time lost.

How do you feel about “I don’t know,” as a student response? 

P.S. Here is a link to the Rick Lavoie F.A.T. City video.

 

Leave a comment